top of page

Second half of our trip :)

Our day started early, as today we really wanted to visit Musee d'Orsay. We were there just in time and went straight to the fifth floor. I really wanted a picture with the big clock in the building. I think I was about the first to get there and we made many nice pictures. I just love the fact that you see my silhouette behind the clock. I'll throw a picture online when I get home.

After that, we wanted to go to the Notre Dame (for real this time). I did have mission though, so before we got there we took a side road and looked for Laduree. The shop was really tiny, but so damn cute. However, it may be cute but it was also really expensive. I couldn't leave without completing my mission, so I did buy an eclair. I'll tell you in advance, it was really good! With some sort of chocolate mousse inside.

Okay, so then we really went towards the Notre Dame. It was quite a search, but after I while we got there and it's such an impressing building. In the streets near the Notre Dame are a lot of souvenir shops. And with a lot, I mean like 10 or 15 besides each other. I finally completed my mission, when I found the patch of Paris. Yay!

In the same street as the souvenir shops, you can also find two more shops which I really liked myself. The first one is Huré. This is a pattisier/boulangerie where they sell sandwiches and cakes and stuff. I guess it's well known by the locals, because quite some people were waiting in line. I chose a baguette with pulled chicken and bbq sauce, and that one tasted really nice! Next to the Huré was also the Haagen-Dasz. You might know it from there icecream. I didn't get their chocolate milk, but it did look good though!

We took the subway and went to take a look at the Sacre coeur. I personally think it's more impressive from far away, as seen from the Montparnasse. When looking closely you can see that it's actually quite grey, which doesn't really appeal to me. Behind the Sacre Coeur you can find Place du Tertre. At this little square you can find many painters and artists. Note: if it rains they are all gone, because they can't paint with such weather. Luckily for us they were there. I was stunned by the talent of these people. However, it is their living and therefore they don't mind pushing something in your hands for which you have to pay. In our case it was a man, standing in front of us, trying to cut a silhouette of my head. I would have said no, but my mom wanted to buy it for me, so I can't deny that it looked really good. He did have some talent.

Not much later it began to rain, so we decided to go back to the hotel. We had a cup of tea and read a book and later in the evening we ate dinner at our hotel/restaurant. Take in mind that French or Parisian people don't really serve big meals and that you pay a little more than we (Dutch people) normally do. Nevertheless, I had a great meal!

On our last morning we went to Galeries Lafayette. This is a big warehouse with all the expensive brands. We saw all the collections from Prada to Gucci to Kenzo. Way to expensive for me to buy, but a nice closer for our city trip to Paris. I hoped you enjoyed reading and I'll see you soon!

Tags:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page