top of page

The unexplored pearl called Slovenia

I had been there before. That was one of the reasons why I went again. The first time I saw so little, and even that part of the country got a hold on me. What I'm talking about? Slovenia of course!

Lake Bled is one of the lakes in Slovenia. As it lays close to the town Bled, it has become a well known place for tourists. I can get why. The little church on an island in the middle of the lake looks like a fairytale. My first sight of Slovenia was therefore a really good one.

Lake Bled with its' famous island

Not far from Bled, you can visit the Vintgar Gorge. This gorge is also visited by many tourists every day, so you do need to pay to visit. However, if you are a student you can get a small discount and furthermore, it's simply worth it. Wooden paths lead you through this gorge, until you end at the waterfall. The water is cold, but gosh, so amazing! I definitely recommend you yo take some swimwear and dive right in.

After my visit to Bled, I decided I needed to go back to Slovenias' nature and so I did. This time I visited Bovec, a small town in the north of Slovenia, extremely close to the Julian Alps in Triglav National Park. It's amazing what you can do there.

The Soča river flows from the Alps to Bovec and further. This crystal clear water looks stunning and relatively calm, but it is actually determined as white water and therefore quite rough. The Soča river enables you to do some white water rafting and kayaking. An absolutely great experience.

Kayaking on the Soča river

The mountains of Bovec supply you with more than enough possibilities for hiking, mountain biking, paragliding and zip lining. Except for the paragliding and rafting, I had the opportunity to try all of these sports. It makes the adrenaline run through your veins and for the first time in my life I was actually proud of climbing a hill while mountain biking.

In the end I can only say; go explore Slovenia yourself. You might not expect it, but it has some stunning nature and it leaves you speechless.

View of Bovec from Mt. Kaning at 2204 meters

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page