top of page

The beauty of Pisa and Florence

Day 4

Today was relaxed. We had a morning in La Spezia, which we spent with our backpacks on our back. It was so extremely hot, so we didn't do very much. Around 1 o'clock we went to Pisa. It is quite a walk from the station to the tower, and together with walking the wrong way, it was quite a challenge. I think I saw thousands of people today, all looking at the same building which once had a subsidence. We made crazy, cliché pictures and sat there for a while. I think Pisa has a really nice vibe. Houses aren't pastel colored anymore, but contain real bricks and stones. Streets are a bit broader and you can see something everywhere. After diner we went towards the train, because we were going to Florence. We had a sunset all the way on our left, which was amazing to watch. After a half an hour walk (approximately), we reached our Airbnb. And that was pretty much my day. Not doing much, just walking in the heat and watching people. Tomorrow we're going in to Florence! Finally what I have been waiting for :)

The Tower of Pisa

Day 5 Here I am again and I have an announcement to make. I'm in love... with Florence. It is such a beautiful city and I think for the first time in my life I was completely stunned by a church/cathedral. The famous Duomo of Florence looks so amazing. It ain't all white, it ain't all small details and it does still look so powerful. Yes, I liked it very much. The Duomo looked great, but I've got one more thing that tops the list; the Ponte Vecchio. Many people will know what I'm talking about. A bridge, full of little houses and many many shops on the bridge itself. It's cute and so mesmerizing to watch. We watched the sun go down from piazza Michelangelo, and saw the whole city from a whole new perspective (together with about a couple hundred other tourists, but I take that for granted). We walked a lot today and my heels already have two blisters. But I'm still going strong and I'm all in for tomorrow, because we are going for a bike ride towards Chianti! This is the well known area in which you see cypresses, villas and smooth hills. (I think this is gonna be my jam, if I can say it this way ;)). I'll let you know soon enough! Bye!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page